Halloween Decorations on the Cheap

Standard

This really isn’t meant to be a how to be frugal blog.  There are so many of those and I am really not trying to jump on the bandwagon.  My purpose with this blog is to highlight some freebies you can pick up to donate each week and motivate folks to help others in a simple way that doesn’t cost much time or money.

But I just can’t help showing off my super inexpensive and easy to do Halloween mantel decorations.  This cute little get up only cost me $11.

Here’s what I bought:

  • 4 leaf garlands
  • 4 foam pumpkins
  • 2 large spiders
  • 1 spider web

I purchased everything at The Dollar Store.  I had spray paint and the 2 large candles on hand which helped me stay super frugal.  I spray painted 2 of the garlands and 2 of the pumpkins black and I sprayed the other 2 pumpkins cream.  Everything I painted got 2 light coats of spray paint.  Then I just plopped it all on my mantel (after waiting 24 hours for everything to dry of course) and Voila! A seasonally decorated mantel!

I suppose in order to make this fit in with my blogs purpose I could suggest that you pick up a few of these items and donate them somewhere in order to help an organization create their own seasonal decorations….or I could just admit that I just wanted to show off my cute mantel!

 

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. I did $60 worth of great stuff yesterday and only paid $12… and that included several items that I needed that were not on sale and I did not have a coupon for. This really should be an olympic sport. Peace Out Baby!!!

  2. Eva – Thanks for the thumbs up! I agree with you 100% the Dollar store rocks Halloween!

    Elizabeth, you are my couponing hero!

Leave a Reply

